HSJW students HSJW students

Apply for Fall of 2019

Apply online today

Scripps picks up top papers at AJHA National Conference

Graduate students and faculty from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism were recognized for their research at the American Journalism Historian’s Association’s annual convention in Salt Lake City, Utah, in early October.

Top honors among graduate student research went to Scripps doctoral students Natascha Roelsgaard and Bailey Dick.

Roelsgaard won the Robert Lance Memorial Award for Outstanding Student Paper for “‘Let Our Voices Speak Loud and Clear’: Daisy Bates’ Leadership in Civil Rights and Black Press History.” Dick was runner up with her paper “‘We Females Have to be Contented with the Tales of Adventures’: Gender Conformity in Dorothy Day’s Early Reporting.”

Roelsgaard also won the Maurine Beasley Award for the Outstanding Paper on Women’s History and Dick won runner up. In this category, graduate students were competing with faculty for top honors.

Professor Michael Sweeney and Professor Emeriti Patrick S. Washburn were runners up for the Wm. David Sloan Award for Outstanding Faculty Paper for “Francis Biddle and the Jennings Case in 1934-35: A Freedom of the Press Complaint that Sucked in Franklin D. Roosevelt, William Randolph Hearst, and Heywood Broun.”

Washburn and Sweeney also took home the Wally Eberhard Award for the Outstanding Paper on Media and War.

Founded in 1981, the American Journalism Historians Association seeks to advance education and research in mass communication history. Members work to raise historical standards and ensure that all scholars and students recognize the vast importance of media history and apply this knowledge to the advancement of society.

For more information on AJHA, visit

For additional info contact Aimee Edmondson

permalink | Bookmark and Share

Link directly to this Scripps Note
Posted by Bob Stewart on 11.01.2018 @ 00:00:00